Summary of the NELAP Accreditation Council Meeting April 18, 2011

1. Roll call

The NELAP Accreditation Council (AC) met at 1:30 PM EDT on April 18, 2011. Those members in attendance are listed in Attachment 1.

2. Update on AB Renewals

Technical reviews are underway for KS, NH, and LA DHH. Completeness reviews are in progress for PA and NY. UT received an extension until April 15 to submit, and that application should be waiting when the Evaluation Coordinator (Lynn) returns home.

3. Closure of vote on Non-Potable Water (NPW) Field of Proficiency Testing (FoPT) table

One email vote was needed; this was received and the NPW FoPT tables were adopted. The PT Executive Committee will notify the AC when the effective date of the new tables are determined, probably at about 6 months with implementation a year later.

4. Further Consideration of Provisional Recognition SOP

The revised draft Provisional Recognition SOP (to be SOP 3-108, once adopted) was discussed. Several further needed edits were pointed out, such as incorrect references to the Evaluation SOP paragraphs and some wording revisions to clarify that non-renewal instead of revocation is the outcome when final corrective action is unsatisfactory, and clarification of the examples of items that might result in provisional recognition.

A major issue was identified, with the paragraph requiring the provisionally recognized AB to communicate its status to the labs it accredits. There is question about whether some ABs could legally do this, and many ABs have concerns that publicizing such status would give the nay-sayers of accreditation a reason to try to abolish the AB's program.

On the other side of this issue, it was mentioned that if the ABs are going to be self-policing, there must be penalties for non-compliance, and that transparency is of paramount importance. It was agreed that posting provisional recognition status on the TNI website (with the listing of recognized ABs) and having the previously agreed upon revised certificate for the AB (indicating provisional recognition) would be acceptable substitutes for public notification, and the minutes of the AC meeting would note that the recommendation for provisional recognition was accepted.

Another revised draft will be circulated to the AC prior to its next meeting, and if time permits, it will be considered then; else this SOP will be taken up at the May 16 meeting.

6. Next meeting

The AC agreed to hold its next regular conference call on Monday, May 2, 2011, at 1:30 pm Eastern. The agenda items will include:

- Roll Call and Approval of Minutes
- Update on Renewals
- Presentation and discussion of the Report to the Board of Directors from the AB Assistance Task Force (Judy Duncan, presenting)
- Discussion and vote on revised draft Provisional Recognition SOP (time permitting)

Attachment 1

STATE	REPRESENTATIVE	PRESENT
CA	George Kulasingam T: (510) 620-3155 F: (510) 620-3165 E: <u>gkulasin@cdph.ca.gov</u>	no
	Alternate: Jane Jensen E: jjensen@cdph.ca.gov	yes
FL	Stephen Arms T: (904) 791-1502 F: (904) 791-1591 E: <u>steve_arms@doh.state.fl.us</u>	yes
	Alternate: Carl Kircher E: <u>carl_kircher@doh.state.fl.us</u>	no
IL	Scott Siders T: (217) 785-5163 F: (217) 524-6169 E: <u>scott.siders@illinois.gov</u>	no
	Alternate: TBA	
KS	Dennis L. Dobson 785-291-3162 E: <u>ddobson@kdhe.state.ks.us</u> F: (785) 296-1638	yes
	Alternate: Michelle Wade E: <u>MWade@kdheks.gov</u>	yes
LA DEQ	Paul Bergeron T: 225-219-3247 F: 225-325-8244 E: <u>Paul.Bergeron@la.gov</u> Altérnate: TBD	no
LA DHH	Louis Wales T: (504) 219-4662 F: (504) 219-4661 E: <u>louis.wales@la.gov</u>	yes
	Alternate: Ginger Hutto E: <u>ghutto@dhh.la.gov</u>	no

T: 651.201.5323 F: E: <u>susan.wyatt@state.mn.us</u> Alternate: Stephanie Drier E: <u>stephanie.drier@state.mn.us</u> Bill Hall	yes
E: <u>susan.wyatt@state.mn.us</u> Alternate: Stephanie Drier E: <u>stephanie.drier@state.mn.us</u>	yes
Alternate: Stephanie Drier E: <u>stephanie.drier@state.mn.us</u>	yes
E: stephanie.drier@state.mn.us	yes
	-
Bill Hall	
	1/00
T: (603) 271-2998	yes
F: (603) 271-5171	
E: george.hall@des.nh.gov	
Alternate: TBD	
Joe Aiello	ves
T: (609) 633-3840	5
E: joseph.aiello@dep.state.nj.us	
Alternate : TBD	
Stephanie Ostrowski	yes
T: (518) 485-5570	
E: <u>seo01@health.state.ny.us</u>	
Alternate: Dan Dickinson	no
E: dmd15@health.state.ny.us	
Irene Ronning	Ves
T: 503-693-4122	y = =
F: 503-693-5602	
E: irene.e.ronning@state.or.us	
Alternate: Raeann Havnes	no
E: haynes.raeann@deq.state.or.us	
Scott Hoatson	no
hoatson.scott@deq.state.or.us	
Aaren Alger	yes
T: (717) 346-8212	
F: (717) 346-8590	
E: aaalger@state.pa.us	
Alternate: Dana Marshall	no
	E: george.hall@des.nh.gov Alternate: TBD Joe Aiello T: (609) 633-3840 F: (609) 777-1774 E: joseph.aiello@dep.state.nj.us Alternate : TBD Stephanie Ostrowski T: (518) 485-5570 F: (518) 485-5568 E: seo01@health.state.ny.us Alternate: Dan Dickinson E: dmd15@health.state.ny.us Irene Ronning T: 503-693-4122 F: 503-693-5602 E: jrene.e.ronning@state.or.us Alternate: Raeann Haynes E: haynes.raeann@deq.state.or.us Scott Hoatson T: (503) 693-5786 hoatson.scott@deq.state.or.us Aaren Alger T: (717) 346-8212 F: (717) 346-8590

ТХ	Stephen Stubbs T: (512) 239-3343 F: (512) 239-4760 E: <u>sstubbs@tceq.state.tx.us</u>	yes
	Alternate: Steve Gibson E: jgibson@tceq.state.tx.us	yes
UT	David Mendenhall T: (801) 584-8470 F: (801) 584-8501 E: <u>davidmendenhall@utah.gov</u>	yes
	Alternate: Kristin Brown E: <u>kristinbrown@utah.gov</u>	no
VA	Cathy Westerman T: 804-648-4480 ext.391 E: <u>cathy.westerman@virginia.gov</u>	no
	Alternate: Ed Shaw T: 804-648-4480 ext.152 E: <u>ed.shaw@virginia.gov</u>	no
	NELAP AC Program Administrator and Evaluation Coordinator Lynn Bradley T: 703-867-5966 E: lynn.bradley@nelac-institute.org	yes
EPA Liaison	Arthur Clark T: 617-918-8374 F: 617-918-8274 E: <u>clark.arthur@epa.gov</u>	yes
	Quality Assurance Officer Paul Ellingson T: 801-201-8166 E: <u>altasnow@gmail.com</u>	yes
	Oklahoma: David Caldwell Judy Duncan	David Caldwell
	Guests:	none